Chrome Dreams View Cart | Checkout | About Us| Contact Us
Books etc.
Maximum Series
Lowdown Series
CD Boxsets
DVDs & DVD Boxsets
Music CDs
Document Series
Classic Interviews
X-Posed Interviews
Jukebox Series
Buzzola Series
For accurate results use quotation marks - "Neil Young"

Shopping Cart

Subtotal: £0.00
Delivery: £0.00
Total: £0.00

  Home > Music CDs

Bob Dylan - Great American Songbook

Bob Dylan - Great American Songbook

Bob Dylans acknowledgement of the Great American Songbook began in 2015 with the release of Shadows in the Night, a collection of 10 traditional pop standards made famous by Frank Sinatra. The album débuted at Number One on the UK Albums Chart selling just over 22,000 copies in its first week.
Dylan said of the album: I dont see myself as covering these songs in any way. Theyve been covered enough. Buried, as a matter a fact. What me and my band are basically doing is uncovering them. Lifting them out of the grave and bringing them into the light of day.
To the surprise of many of his fans, Dylan followed Shadows in the Night with a second collection of standards. Fallen Angels (2016) faired slightly less well, only reaching Number Five on the UK Chart. The album nonetheless received a nomination for Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album at the 59th Annual Grammy Awards.
The inspiration Dylan found in this material motivated him to not only record a third collection of classic American songs but to make this one a 30-song triple album.
Bob Dylan: I am finding these great songs to be a tremendous source of inspiration that has led me to one of my most satisfying periods in the studio. Ive hit upon new ways to uncover and interpret these songs that are right in line with the best recordings of my own songs, and my band and I really seemed to hit our stride on every level with Triplicate.
Bob Dylans Triplicate is presented in three thematically-arranged, ten-song sequences, each individually titled: Til the Sun Goes Down, Devil Dolls and Comin Home Late, and we have maintained this running order throughout. Nevertheless, there are so many great versions of these songs we simply couldnt leave you with just 80 minutes of music so we have also included a further ten bonus tracks.



’Til the Sun Goes Down

1 I Guess I’ll have to Change My Plan (Dietz/Schwartz) – Tony Bennett 1.43
2 September of My Years (Van Heusen/Cahn) – Frank Sinatra 3.14
3 I Could Have Told You (Van Heusen/Sigman) – Arthur Prysock and Count Basie 3.45
4 Once Upon a Time (Strouse/Adams) – Tony Bennett 2.59
5 Stormy Weather (Arlen/Koehler) – Lena Horne 3.24
6 This Nearly Was Mine (Rodgers/Hammerstein) – Bob Crewe 2.18
7 That Old Feeling (Fain/Brown) – Patti Page 3.04
8 It Gets Lonely Early (Van Heusen/Cahn) – Frank Sinatra 2.58
9 My One and Only Love (Wood/Mellin) – Sarah Vaughan 2.49
10 Trade Winds (Tobias/Friend) – Bing Crosby 3.15

Devil Dolls

11 Braggin’ (Manners/Shirl/Marko) – The Harry James Orchestra with Dick Haymes 2.57
12 As Time Goes By (Hupfeld) – Dooley Wilson 3.01
13 Imagination (Van Heusen/Burke) – Dean Martin 3.15
14 How Deep is the Ocean (Berlin) – Ella Fitzgerald 3.10
15 P.S. I Love You (Jenkins/Mercer) – Billie Holiday 3.38
16 The Best Is Yet to Come (Leigh/Coleman) – Sarah Vaughan 2.44
17 But Beautiful (Van Heusen/Burke) – Bing Crosby 2.44
18 Here’s That Rainy Day (Van Heusen/Burke) – Peggy Lee 2.47
19 Where Is the One? (Finckel/Wilder) – Bobby Darin 3.28
20 There’s a Flaw in My Flue (Van Heusen/Burke) – Frank Sinatra 2.40

Comin’ Home Late
1 Day In, Day Out (Mercer/Bloom) – Johnny Mathis 2.10
2 I Couldn’t Sleep a Wink Last Night (McHugh/Adamson) – Frank Sinatra 3.25
3 Sentimental Journey (Brown/Homer/Green) – Ella Fitzgerald 3.17
4 Somewhere Along the Way (Gallop/Adams) – Tommy Sands 2.30
5 When the World Was Young (Mercer/Vannier/Gérard) – Peggy Lee 3.17
6 These Foolish Things (Strachey/Link/Marvell) – Billie Holiday 3.35
7 You Go to My Head (Coots/Gillespie) – Sarah Vaughan and the Count Basie Orchestra 4.54
8 Stardust (Carmichael/Parish) – Nat King Cole 3.16
9 It’s Funny to Everyone but Me (Lawrence) – Dinah Shore 2.12
10 Why Was I Born? (Hammerstein/Kern) – Johnny Hartman 2.50

Bonus Tracks

11 I Guess I’ll have to Change My Plan (Dietz/Schwartz) – Tony Martin 2.39
12 I Could Have Told You (Van Heusen/Sigman) – Mel Tormé 1.35
13 Stormy Weather (Arlen/Koehler) – Etta James 3.10
14 My One and Only Love (Wood/Mellin) – Johnny Mathis 3.39
15 Imagination (Van Heusen/Burke) – June Christy 3.15
16 But Beautiful (Van Heusen/Burke) – The Coasters 2.48
17 Day In, Day Out (Mercer/Bloom) – Duke Ellington and His Orchestra 3.52
18 Sentimental Journey (Brown/Homer/Green) – Julie London 2.26
19 When the World Was Young (Mercer/Vannier/Gérard) – Sheila Jordan 4.43
20 These Foolish Things (Strachey/Link/Marvell) – Frank Sinatra 3.07

Choose Delivery:

Our Price: £9.99

« Back
New In Jazz

New In Jazz


Site Map | Terms & Conditions