Chrome Dreams View Cart | Checkout | About Us| Contact Us
Books etc.
Maximum Series
Lowdown Series
CD Boxsets
DVDs & DVD Boxsets
Music CDs
Document Series
Classic Interviews
X-Posed Interviews
Jukebox Series
Buzzola Series
For accurate results use quotation marks - "Neil Young"

Shopping Cart

Subtotal: £0.00
Delivery: £0.00
Total: £0.00

  Home > Music CDs

Charles Mingus  - The Complete Albums Collection 1957-1960

Charles Mingus - The Complete Albums Collection 1957-1960

Renowned for his virtuoso musical ability, his compositional genius and his astonishing body of work, Charles Mingus has left an enduring and revered legacy equal to, if not surpassing, any other jazz musician. A pioneer of double bass and keen practitioner of collective improvisation within his various groups, Mingus enlisted the talents of many up-and-coming musicians, encouraging them to interact with each other in the most unconventional ways. His skills as an arranger brought him much acclaim from his peers, with legendary trumpeter Dizzy Gillespie dubbing him an “organisational genius” and comparing him to the young Duke Ellington. As testament to Mingus’ abilities, he produced many groundbreaking albums during his lifetime, a number of which remain counted among the finest jazz records ever made.
Towards the tail end of the 1950s, Mingus recorded and released some of his most exciting and celebrated works, on which he would regularly experiment with new sounds, styles and arrangements. A Modern Jazz Symposium Of Music And Poetry (Bethlehem, 1957) - which, despite its title, contained no poetry - included an extended spoken narrative from actor and saxophonist Mel Stewart. An even more ambitious project, The Weary Blues (MGM, 1958), did feature poetry, written and read by Langston Hughes, set to Mingus’ compositions and arrangements. Other notable appearances on Mingus albums during this time included renowned pianist Bill Evans’ playing on East Coasting (Bethlehem, 1957), and keyboard wizard Mal Waldron performing alongside saxophonists Jackie McLean, Pepper Adams and Booker Ervin on Blues & Roots (Atlantic, 1960), a record produced by Nesuhi Ertegun and engineered by Tom Dowd.
This boxed set, featuring eight complete albums across four CDs, captures perfectly the genius of Charles Mingus during one of the most exciting and musically adventurous periods of his career. Containing over five hours of music, beautifully remastered from the original recordings, the collection presented here is the ideal starting point for any student of the great man’s music and a fitting reminder of his genius for the more seasoned admirer.

CD 1
1 Memories Of You 4:27  
2 East Coasting 5:13  
3 West Coast Ghost 8:57  
4 Celia 7:05  
5 Conversation 5:28  
6 Fifty-First Street Blues 5:46  
7 Scenes In The City 11:55  
8 Nouroog 4:52  
9 New York Sketchbook  8:55  
10 Duke's Choice 6:27  
11 Slippers 3:29  

CD 2
1 Consider Me 3:20  
2 Warning: Augmented 1:08  
3 Motto/Dead In There 2:06  
4 Final Curve 0:11  
5 Boogie: 1 AM 1:51  
6 Bed Time 1:07  
7 Big Ben 1:01  
8 Tell Me 0:40  
9 Good Morning/A Dream Deferred 1:44  
10 Same In Blues/Comment On Curb 1:46  
11 Freedom/Island/Warning: Augmented/Jump Monk 6:08  
12 Better Git In Your Soul 7:22  
13 Goodbye Pork Pie Hat 5:44  
14 Boogie Stop Shuffle 5:00  
15 Self-Portrait In Three Colors 3:09  
16 Open Letter To Duke 5:50  
17 Bird Calls 6:16  
18 Fables Of Faubus 8:14  
19 Pussy Cat Dues 9:13  
20 Jelly Roll 6:16  

CD 3
1 Nostalgia In Times Square 12:18  
2 I Can't Get Started 10:09  
3 No Private Income Blues 12:51  
4 Alice's Wonderland 8:55  
5 Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting 5:43  
6 Cryin' Blues 5:02  
7 Moanin' 8:03  
8 Tensions 6:31  
9 My Jelly Roll Soul 6:50  
10 E's Flat, Ah's Flat Too 6:43  

CD 4
1 Slop 4:40
2 Diane 7:31
3 Song With Orange 4:15
4 Gunslinging Bird 3:58
5 Things Ain't What They Used To Be 4:25
6 Far Wells, Mill Valley 6:14
7 New Now, Know How 3:02
8 Mood Indigo 8:16
9 Put Me In That Dungeon 2:53
10 Take The 'A' Train/Exactly Like You 3:39
11 Prayer For Passive Resistance 3:54
12 Eclipse 4:00
13 Mingus Fingus No. 2 3:38
14 Weird Nightmare 3:40
15 Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me/I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart 3:40
16 Bemoanable Lady 4:27
17 Half-Mast Inhibition 8:14

Choose Delivery:

Our Price: £11.99

« Back
New In Jazz

New In Jazz


Site Map | Terms & Conditions