Chrome Dreams View Cart | Checkout | About Us| Contact Us
Books etc.
Maximum Series
Lowdown Series
CD Boxsets
DVDs & DVD Boxsets
Music CDs
Document Series
Classic Interviews
X-Posed Interviews
Jukebox Series
Buzzola Series
For accurate results use quotation marks - "Neil Young"

Shopping Cart

Subtotal: £0.00
Delivery: £0.00
Total: £0.00

  Home > Music CDs

Charles Mingus  - The Complete Albums Collection 1960-1963

Charles Mingus - The Complete Albums Collection 1960-1963

One of the most notorious yet accomplished and universally respected figures in the history of American music, Charles Mingus produced some of the most celebrated recordings in all of jazz, and in so doing demonstrated a host of new extremes towards which the genre would be directed. A virtuoso double bassist and a legendary composer, his approach to writing and arrangement mainly favoured larger ensembles, encouraging group improvisation and playing to the strengths of each member. Considered the spiritual successor to Duke Ellington, Mingus’ groups often nurtured the talent of up-and-coming jazz artists, while his legacy has gone on to influence the generations that followed.
Mingus began the 1960s with an ambitious albeit short-lived venture: the organisation of an alternative Newport Jazz Festival. Having become dissatisfied by increasingly unadventurous lineups at the regular event, he enlisted the talents of some of the more experimental artists of the day, a number of whom - Max Roach, Eric Dolphy and Abbey Lincoln among them - can be heard playing alongside Mingus under the collective name The Jazz Artists Guild on Newport Rebels (Candid, 1960).
This four CD set collects together eight original Charles Mingus albums from the late 1950s and early 1960s. Containing over five hours of music from the great man and featuring some of the finest jazz ever recorded, the sheer magnificence of his talents is here displayed in all its glory for both the newcomer to Mingus’ music and for the seasoned admirer. Featuring a body of work that revolutionised the jazz genre and equally changed the course of 20th century American music forever, this compilation will delight and astonish all those who take the time to listen.

1 Mysterious Blues 8:43  
2 Cliff Walk 9:45  
3 Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams 3:53  
4 T'ain't Nobody's Bizness If I Do 7:18  
5 Me And You 9:55  
6 M.D.M. (Monk, Duke And Me) 19:15  
7 Stormy Weather 13:24  
8 Lock' Em Up (Hellview Of Bellevue) 6:47  

1 Folk Forms, No. 1 13:07  
2 Original Faubus Fables 9:22  
3 What Love? 15:24  
4 All The Things You Could Be By Now If Sigmund Freud's Wife Was Your Mother 8:35  
5 Dizzy Moods 5:52  
6 Ysabel's Table Dance 10:28  
7 Tijuana Gift Shop 3:49  
8 Los Mariachis (The Street Musicians) 10:22  
9 Flamingo 5:35  

1 Hog Callin' Blues 7:06  
2 Devil Woman 9:39  
3 Wham Bam Thank You Ma'am 4:41  
4 Ecclusiastics 6:55  
5 Oh Lord, Don't Let Them Drop That Atomic Bomb On Me 5:39  
6 Eat That Chicken 4:36  
7 Passions Of A Man 4:52  
8 Clark In The Dark 3:06  
9 Epitaph (Part One) 6:55  
10 Epitaph (Part Two) 5:01  
11 Freedom 3:45  
12 My Search 8:07  
13 Duke's Choice (Don't Come Back) 5:07  
14 In A Mellotone (Finale) 7:39  
1 Solo Dancer 6:39  
2 Duet Solo Dancers 6:45  
3 Group Dancers 7:22  
4 Trio And Group Dancers/Single Solos And Group Dance/Group And Solo Dance 18:39 
5 II B.S. 4:49  
6 I X Love 7:41  
7 Celia 6:15  
8 Mood Indigo 4:46  
9 Better Get Hit In Yo' Soul 6:31  
10 Theme For Lester Young 5:51  
11 Hora Decubitus 4:43

Choose Delivery:

Our Price: £11.99

« Back
New In Jazz

New In Jazz


Site Map | Terms & Conditions