Chrome Dreams View Cart | Checkout | About Us| Contact Us
Books etc.
Maximum Series
Lowdown Series
CD Boxsets
DVDs & DVD Boxsets
Music CDs
Document Series
Classic Interviews
X-Posed Interviews
Jukebox Series
Buzzola Series
For accurate results use quotation marks - "Neil Young"

Shopping Cart

Subtotal: £0.00
Delivery: £0.00
Total: £0.00

  Home > Music CDs

Joao Gilberto - The Roots of Bossa Nova

Joao Gilberto - The Roots of Bossa Nova

João Gilberto - now in his eighty-first year - remains something of a perplexing enigma. A reluctant star of a musical genre he helped pioneer, the bossa nova singer/guitarist has steadfastly rejected the limelight for fifty years. Even today he continues to refuse interview requests and is renowned for walking off stage mid-performance if something causes him displeasure.
Gilbertos music however is unimpeachable and as a musician he nothing short of a genius. This two disc compilation comprises João Gilbertos seminal and profoundly influential first three albums - Chega De Saudade (1959), O Amor, O Sorriso E A Flor (1960), and João Gilberto (1961) in full, and in doing so chronicles a key early phase in the evolution of bossa nova music. Appended to these tracks are two rare non-album bonus cuts Manha De Carnival and a medley comprising O Nosso Amor and A Felicidade - only previously released on an EP in 1959.
This style, which Gilberto introduced in 1957, created a revolution in the musical circles of Rio's Zona Sul, and young guitarists have sought to imitate it ever since, and even today the sound of bossa nova remains enormously fashionable amongst the coolest cats around.


 ‘Chega de Saudade’ (1959)
1. Chega de Saudade 2:01 (Antonio Carlos Jobim-Vinicius de Moraes)
2. Lobo Bobo 1:20 (Carlos Lyra-Ronaldo Boscoli)
3. Brigas, Nunca Mais 2:05 (Antonio Carlos Jobim-Vinicius de Moraes)
4. Hó-Bá-Lá-Lá 2:15(João Gilberto)
5. Saudade Fez um Samba 2:01(Carlos Lyra-Ronaldo Boscoli)
6. Maria Ninguém 2:21 (Carlos Lyra)
7. Desafinado 1:58 (Antonio Carlos Jobim-Newton Mendonca)
8. Rosa Morena 2:04(Dorival Caymmi)
9. Morena Boca de Ouro 1:58(Ary Barroso)
10. Bim Bom 1:16(João Gilberto)
11. Aos Pés da Cruz 1:34(Marino Pinto-Ze da Zilda)
12. É Luxo Só 1:56(Ary Barroso-Luiz Peixoto)
 ‘O Amor, o Sorriso e a Flor’ (1960)
13. Samba De Una Nota Só 1:35(Antonio Carlos Jobim-Newton Mendonca)
14. Doralice 1:25(Antonio Almeida-Dorival Caymmi)
15. Só Em Teus Braços 1:46(Antonio Carlos Jobim)
16. Trevo De Quatro Folhas 1:21(Mort Dixon-Harry Woods)
17. Se É Tarde, Me Perdoa 1:43(Carlos Lyra-Ronaldo Boscoli)
18. Um Abraço No Bonfá 1:35(João Gilberto)
19. Meditação 1:44(Antonio Carlos Jobim-Newton Mendonca)
20. O Pato 1:56(Jayme Silva-Neuza Teixeira)
21. Corcovado 1:58(Antonio Carlos Jobim)
22. Discussão 1:47(Antonio Carlos Jobim-Newton Mendonca)
23. Amor Certinho 1:50(Roberto Guimaraes)
24. Outra Vez 1:45(Antonio Carlos Jobim)
‘João Gilberto’ (1961)
25. O Samba da Minha Terra 2.21(Dorival Caymmi)
26. O Barquinho 2.31(Roberto Menescal-Ronaldo Boscoli)
27. Bolinha de Papel 1.19(Geraldo Pereira)
28. Saudade da Bahia 2.16(Dorival Caymmi)
29. A Primeira Vez 1.52(Bide-Marcal)
30. O Amore em Paz 2.23(Antonio Carlos Jobim-Vinicius de Moraes)
31. Você e Eu 2.31(Carlos Lyra-Vinicius de Moraes)
32. Trem de Ferro (Trenzinho) 1.51(Lauro Maia)
33. Coisa Mais Linda 2.52(Carlos Lyra-Vinicius de Moraes)
34. Presente De Natal 1.53(Nelcy Noronha)
35. Insensatez 2.25(Antonio Carlos Jobim-Vinicius de Moraes)
36. Este Seu Olhar 2.14(Antonio Carlos Jobim)
Bonus tracks
37. Manha De Carnival (1959) 2.35(Luiz Bonfa-Antonio Maria)
38. Medley: O Nosso Amor/A Felicidade (1959) 3.06(Antonio Carlos Jobim-Vinicius de Moraes)

Choose Delivery

Our Price: £9.99

« Back
New In Jazz

New In Jazz


Site Map | Terms & Conditions