Chrome Dreams View Cart | Checkout | About Us| Contact Us
Books etc.
Maximum Series
Lowdown Series
CD Boxsets
DVDs & DVD Boxsets
Music CDs
Document Series
Classic Interviews
X-Posed Interviews
Jukebox Series
Buzzola Series
For accurate results use quotation marks - "Neil Young"

Shopping Cart

Subtotal: £0.00
Delivery: £0.00
Total: £0.00

  Home > Music CDs

Kenny Burrell  - The Complete Albums Collection 1956-1957

Kenny Burrell - The Complete Albums Collection 1956-1957

In the world of jazz guitar, few players can measure up to the skill, stature and sheer influence that Kenny Burrell bought to the genre. With his trademark straightforward playing that fused jazz and blues beautifully, this pioneer featured on hundreds of albums , both as leader of his own groups and as a much in-demand sideman for others. Often hailed as the greatest guitarist in the world - he was the personal favourite guitarist of the legendary B.B. King - Burrells playing has gone on to permanently change the way in which the instrument is approached and, in so doing, has influenced generation after generation of likeminded musicians.
Kenneth Earl Burrell was born in Detroit, Michigan on 31st July 1931 to a mother who played piano and sang in the local Second Baptist Church choir, and a father who played banjo and ukulele. A keen musician from an early age, Burrell first picked up the guitar at age 12 and became inspired by jazz and blues musicians, including Django Reinhardt, Charlie Christian, T-Bone Walker and Muddy Waters. After studying composition and theory under Louis Cabara, as well as classic guitar under Joe Fava, Burrell attended Wayne State University. It was while there that he made his first recordings as part of Dizzy Gillespies sextet in 1951. Shortly afterwards, Burrell formed the New World Music Society, which featured future jazz legends Pepper Adams, Donald Byrd, Yusuf Lateef and Elvin Jones, most whom would later appear on Jazzmen Detroit (Savoy, 1956) with Paul Chambers and Kenny Clarke on bass and drums respectively.
Following his graduation in 1955, Burrell toured as part of Oscar Petersons band, and the following year - seeking to develop his musical career - he moved to New York with pianist Tommy Flanagan. Once there, it was only a matter of months before Kenny had recorded his debut album as leader, Introducing Kenny Burrell (Blue Note, 1956), which featured too the talents of Flanagan, Chambers, Clarke and famed Cuban percussionist Cándido de Guerra Camero. Burrells partnership with Tommy Flanagan would be a longstanding one, and the two would continue to appear on each others recordings into the early 1990s. Between 1956 and 1957, Burrell released a staggering number of albums, playing lead to and alongside some of the greatest jazz musicians of the day. All Night Long (Prestige, 1956) featured Donald Byrd, Hank Mobley, Mal Waldron and Art Taylor, while Burrells ever-changing groups also included Art Farmer, Frank Foster, Al Cohn and Cecil Payne. He teamed up with fellow guitarist Jimmy Raney on 2 Guitars (Prestige, 1957), supported once again by Waldron, Byrd, Taylor, alto saxophonist Jackie McLean and bassist Doug Watkins. In addition to his work as band leader, Burrell and Flanagan become two of the most sought-after sidemen in the business, performing and recording with Tony Bennett, Lena Horne, Billie Holiday, Gene Ammons and Kenny Dorham. 1957 also saw Burrells first session with jazz organist Jimmy Smith on Jimmy Smith At The Organ, Vol. 1 (Blue Note), a partnership that would continue intermittently over the next four decades.
This four disc collection, containing eight fully remastered albums, provides the perfect introduction to one of the finest and most innovative musicians still active today. Totaling over five hours music, presented here is the entirety of Kenny Burrells early catalogue as band leader, demonstrating clearly why his place in the history of jazz is justly deserved. Recorded with the assistance of some of the finest players of his generation, the set not only provides an ideal starting point for a study of this legendary guitarist, but an essential component for any eclectic jazz collection.

CD 1
1 This Time The Dream's On Me 5:00  
2 Fugue 'N Blues 6:49  
3 Takeela 4:20  
4 Weaver Of Dreams 4:43  
5 Delilah 6:05  
6 Rhythmorama 6:29  
7 Blues For Skeeter 8:08  
8 Get Happy 4:03  
9 But Not For Me 3:47  
10 Moten Swing 6:08  
11 Cheeta 4:43  
12 Now See How You Are 5:54  
13 Phinupi 4:43  
14 How About You? 5:14  

CD 2
1 Afternoon In Paris 5:57  
2 You Turned The Tables On Me 4:46  
3 Apothegm 5:29  
4 Your Host 5:21  
5 Cottontail 5:35  
6 Tom's Thumb 6:41  
7 Blue Duke 8:50  
8 Dead Heat 4:08  
9 Pivot 5:14  
10 Close Your Eyes 4:52  
11 Little Melonae 9:29  
12 This Way 12:26  
13 Out Of Nowhere 4:33  

CD 3
1 All Night Long 17:12  
2 Boo-Lu 6:48  
3 Flickers 6:14  
4 Li'l Hankie 8:23  
5 All Day Long 18:22  
6 Slim Jim 7:31  
7 Say Listen 6:44  
8 A. T. 6:46  

CD 4
1 Earthy 9:23  
2 What's Not 7:13  
3 I Wouldn't 6:16  
4 The Front Line 6:13  
5 Dayee 14:34  
6 Don't Cry Baby 8:22  
7 Drum Boogie 9:19  
8 Strictly Confidential 6:30  
9 All Of You 6:21  
10 Perception 6:09

Choose Delivery:

Our Price: £11.99

« Back
New In Jazz

New In Jazz


Site Map | Terms & Conditions