Chrome Dreams View Cart | Checkout | About Us| Contact Us
Books etc.
Maximum Series
Lowdown Series
CD Boxsets
DVDs & DVD Boxsets
Music CDs
Document Series
Classic Interviews
X-Posed Interviews
Jukebox Series
Buzzola Series
For accurate results use quotation marks - "Neil Young"

Shopping Cart

Subtotal: £0.00
Delivery: £0.00
Total: £0.00

  Home > Music CDs

Kenny Burrell  - The Complete Albums Collection 1957-1962

Kenny Burrell - The Complete Albums Collection 1957-1962

Since he first played professionally, Kenny Burrell has been one of the most respected guitarist s in all of jazz. He has been referred to as the greatest guitarist in the world by B.B. King and the grand master of jazz guitar by Dizzy Gillespie, and he has influenced the work of Jimi Hendrix, Pat Metheny and a host of other respected players. With his direct approach that blends elements of jazz and blues in an impeccable manner, Burrells work has graced more than 90 albums recorded under his own name, and he has featured on many more as sideman to some of the other most influential figures in jazz, including Billie Holiday, Jimmy Smith, Louis Armstrong, Chet Baker, Stan Getz, Dizzy Gillespie, Coleman Hawkins, Randy Weston, Yusuf Lateef and Sonny Rollins.
The late 1950s and early 1960s turned out to be one of Burrells most productive periods. Constantly experimenting with new arrangements and groups, the era saw Burrells first sessions with legendary drummer Art Blakey, who would appear on Kennys double album Blue Lights Volume 1 and 2 (Blue Note, 1958), as well as the astonishing live record On View At The Five Spot Café (Bluenote, 1959). Burrell was also involved in a number of collaborative projects during this period. In 1957 he was drafted in as a member of The Prestige All Stars alongside such famous names as John Coltrane, Idrees Sulieman, Mal Waldron, Paul Chambers and Art Taylor, appearing on Interplay For 2 Trumpets And Two Tenors (Prestige). One of the most high profile recordings of his career, The Cats (New Jazz, 1959) also featured Coltrane and Sulieman, alongside bassist Doug Watkins, drummer Louis Hayes and Burrells longtime associate, pianist Tommy Flanagan. Between 1957 and 1959, Burrell took up a chair in Benny Goodmans band, a position that had previously been held by his idol, Charlie Christian.
The early 1960s boasted even more classic albums from the guitarist. A Night At The Vanguard (Argo, 1960) further demonstrated his experimentation with arrangement, cutting down his usually larger groups to a trio with Richard Davis on bass and Roy Haynes on drums. Weaver Of Dreams (Columbia, 1961) had the unique honour of demonstrating Burrells vocal abilities alongside his fretboard skills, while Kenny Burrell & John Coltrane (New Jazz, 1962) marked a reunion with the legendary sax man alongside Flanagan, Chambers and drummer Jimmy Cobb. Burrell continued to produce critically acclaimed albums during the 1960s, including Midnight Blue (Blue Note, 1963) with tenor saxophonist Stanley Turrentine and Guitar Forms (Verve, 1965) with arranger Gil Evans, which were both considered particular highlights.
In 1978, he began teaching a course entitled Ellingtonia at UCLA, the first in the United States to be solely dedicated to the works of the master composer, pianist and bandleader, Duke Ellington. Although the two men never directly collaborated, Ellington always held that Burrell was his favourite guitarist. Since then, Burrell has continued to develop his teaching career, and since 1996 has been the Director of Jazz Studies at UCLA, mentoring alumni such as Grammy Award-nominated vocalist Gretchen Parlato and tenor saxophonist Kamasi Washington. Burrell has not let his teaching work get in the way of his musical work however, and he has been recognised with awards on multiple occasions. In 1998, Dear Ella (Verve, 1998) by Dee Dee Bridgewater - on which Burrell performed and wrote the title track - won a Grammy Award, and the man himself was named a Jazz Master by the National Endowment for the Arts. Now aged 84, after more than 60 years in the business, Burrell still continues to record and perform live, with his most recent album The Road To Love (Highnote)having been released in 2015.
This four disc box set, encompassing an essential half decade in the staggering career of this extraordinary musician, is testament to the ongoing appeal and quality of Kenny Burrells sound, and illustrates why he remains a true jazz legend more than 50 years since the release of these LPs. Containing eight complete, remastered albums and over five hours of Burrells sublime, soulful playing, this set provides the ideal selection of the mans music, and reveals the roots of just about every skilled guitarist that has come along since.

CD 1
1 Interplay 9:37  
2 Anatomy 11:52  
3 Light Blue 7:48  
4 Soul Eyes 17:28  
5 Yes Baby 11:06  
6 Scotch Blues 7:57  
7 Autumn In New York 5:45  
8 Caravan 9:55  

CD 2
1 Rock Salt 11:20  
2 The Man I Love 6:44  
3 Chuckin' 12:12  
4 Phinupi 9:46  
5 Minor Mishap 7:27  
6 How Long Has This Been Going On 6:00  
7 Eclypso 7:58  
8 Solacium 9:10  
9 Tommy's Time 11:59  

CD 3
1 Birk's Works 9:51  
2 Hallelujah 11:45  
3 Lady Be Good 10:02  
4 Lover Man 8:25  
5 36-23-36 3:49  
6 All Night Long 5:17  
7 Will You Still Be Mine 4:29  
8 I'm A Fool To Want You 4:39  
9 Trio 4:23  
10 Broadway 4:22  
11 Soft Winds 3:20  
12 Just A-Sittin'  And A-Rockin' 4:23  
13 Well You Needn't 4:31  

CD 4
1 I'll Buy You A Star 2:11  
2 Weaver Of Dreams 2:27  
3 The More I See You 2:52  
4 I'm Just A Lucky So And So 2:56  
5 A Fine Romance 2:03  
6 Until The Real Thing Comes Along 3:04  
7 The Blues Is Awful Mean 2:37  
8 That Old Feeling 3:28  
9 If I Had You 2:07  
10 Hootchie-Koo 3:57  
11 Afternoon In Paris 4:18  
12 Like Someone In Love 2:12  
13 Freight Trane 7:22  
14 I Never Knew 7:06  
15 Lyresto 5:44  
16 Why Was I Born? 3:15  
17 Big Paul 14:05

Choose Delivery:

Our Price: £11.99

« Back
New In Jazz

New In Jazz


Site Map | Terms & Conditions