Chrome Dreams View Cart | Checkout | About Us| Contact Us
Books etc.
Maximum Series
Lowdown Series
CD Boxsets
DVDs & DVD Boxsets
Music CDs
Document Series
Classic Interviews
X-Posed Interviews
Jukebox Series
Buzzola Series
For accurate results use quotation marks - "Neil Young"

Shopping Cart

Subtotal: £0.00
Delivery: £0.00
Total: £0.00

  Home > CD Boxsets

Yusef Lateef - The Complete Recordings 1957-1959

Yusef Lateef - The Complete Recordings 1957-1959

Grammy Award-winning multi-instrumentalist, composer and educator, Yusef Abdul Lateef was without doubt, via his incorporation of other cultures music into his own, one of the most adventurous jazz musicians in the history of the genre, as well as a man way ahead of his time. Whilst primarily a master of both tenor saxophone and flute, Lateef was famed too for his heavy use of Eastern instrumentation - including shanai, shofar, argol, sarewa, and taiwan koto. Peter Keepnews, in his New York Times obituary of Lateef, wrote that the musician "played world music before world music had a name.".
Lateef began recording in 1957 for both Savoy Records and for New Jazz (a subsidiary of Prestige). Even at this early stage in his career, Lateefs grasp and implementation of Eastern influences was a central theme within his music. This is clear from the very first composition on his debut album Jazz For The Thinker (Savoy, 1957), where the use of North African instruments and unique vocal phrasing alongside more traditional arrangements were quite unlike anything else then available. With his album The Sounds of Yusef (Prestige, 1958), he included Turkish finger cymbals, balloon and even an empty 7 Up bottle as instruments. Throughout this period, Yusef recorded and performed with a quartet, featuring Wilbur Harden (trumpet, flugelhorn), bassist Herman Wright, drummer Frank Gant, and pianist Hugh Lawson. Lateef was then among the hardest-working jazz musicians on the circuit, producing no fewer than eight albums during this period and even finding the time to study oboe under Ronald Odemark of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra.
Demonstrating clearly the ambition and complex musical mind of Yusef Lateef, these first eight records are collected across the four discs making up this boxed-set, serving as they do to immortalise this majestic and unique talent as one of Jazzs very finest, and as a pioneer of what we have come to know as World Music.
1 Happyology 11:04
2 O' Blues 8:58
3 Midday 7:44
4 Polarity 6:56
5 Space 5:44
6 Metaphor 8:08
7 Yusef's Mood 8:35
8 The Beginning 4:12
9 Morning 10:37
10 Blues In Space 7:07
1 Passion 4:06
2 Love Is Eternal 6:34
3 Pike's Peak 5:33
4 Open Strings 6:18
5 Before Dawn 5:30
6 Twenty-Five Minute Blues 5:31
7 Chang, Chang, Chang 3:01
8 Constellation 4:47
9 Take The 'A' Train 11:14
10 Playful Flute 4:18
11 Love And Humor 6:12
12 Buckingham 5:10
13 Meditation 4:40
1 Sounds Of Nature 3:39
2 Check Blues 6:37
3 I've Got It Bad And That Ain't Good 6:16
4 8540 Twelfth Street 4:22
5 Song Of Delilah 8:15
6 Seulb 6:11
7 Gypsy Arab 3:22
8 A Night In Tunisia 9:47
9 Endura 13:05
10 Prayer To The East 8:15
11 Love Dance 6:41
12 Lover Man 6:34
1 All Alone 5:05
2 Anastasia 4:15
3 Minor Mood 9:35
4 Taboo 9:13
5 Lambert's Point 4:43
6 Mahaba 3:44
7 Morning 15:05
8 Brazil 2:56
9 Let Every Soul Say Amen 3:58
10 Woody 'N You 14:43
Total Time: 308:14

Choose Delivery:

Our Price: £13.99

« Back
New In Jazz

New In Jazz


Site Map | Terms & Conditions